How I Feel: Christ and Homosexuality

Image

Picture posted by M

Cynus: But the bible pretty much says nothing about homosexuality, and Christ himself said nothing about it at all. So, if you are a Christian, meaning you follow the words of Christ, then the only thing you really have to go off of is his upgrade to the law which replaced the law of Moses, which is the only place(Other than a slightly ambiguous point by Paul) that even mentions homosexuality.

M: Read Leviticus, teachings of modern prophets or where babies come from

Cynus: “Where babies come from”? Um, Leviticus was what I was referring to in the whole, “Jesus came and gave a new law that replaced the law of Moses” bit. Modern prophets is irrelevant to being a Christian. You are a Christian if you believe and follow the teachings of Christ. Christ, in recorded text in the Bible. or the Book of Mormon for that matter, said nothing about homosexuality.

Leviticus also said nearly everyone and their dog should get stoned for doing almost nothing. Should we continue to adhere to Leviticus? if so, please refrain from eating shellfish in the future, oh, and all that pork you ate in korea? Yeah, might want to repent about that. . .

M: Wow really? You’re telling me what I believe? Being a Christian means (to me anyways) following the Living Christ, loving my fellow man and striving to act as Christ would in any circumstance.

Cynus: No, I am not telling you what you believe. I am telling you what the definition of “Christian” is. I never said that you believe that. I never called you a Christian! I only call people who meet the definition I stated above “Christians”. Christ never said or did anything involving homosexuality, even though I am sure it abounded around him, considering the Roman occupation and all. Romans were quite notorious for liking their same flesh, or rather, having lessened inhibitions.

Yet not once did Christ rebuke the Romans for their people performing Homosexual acts. Not once did he mention Leviticus as the basis for his actions. Not once did he tell people that homosexuality is wrong.

What I am saying is that being against homosexuality has nothing to do with being Christian, because Christ didn’t say anything about it. You can be against it, you can even condemn it, but it is not based off of being Christian. It may be based off of a faith that is also Christian, such as The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints, but all of their reasons for it(except the few noted above) Come from someone else saying it, not Christ. Therefore, your reason for not supporting it would have to come from being a member of your church, not because of Christ.

Likewise, if you don’t support homosexuality because you are Jewish. This actually makes sense, because they follow the law of Moses, which includes the Leviticus portion. Though they seem to pick and choose which verses to follow. Christ, however, having overwritten the law, supercedes Leviticus with the New Law. That is basic LDS doctrine.

It is your prophets that have said that Homosexuality is wrong, not Christ in the Bible. Please do not claim that it is recorded in the Bible that he did. Please do not claim that it is recorded in the Book of Mormon that he did. Christ actually DID love his fellow man, and I have respect for him. He threw out moneychangers and bankers, he accused those who were obsessed in the law of missing the point entirely(The Pharisees), he made it clear that the old law was the old law, and the new law was two-fold “Love the lord thy God with all thy heart” and “Love thy neighbor as thyself”. 

Christ did not say anything about homosexuality. That is all.

Afterword: I want it to be known that I do not consider myself a Christian, even though something that my uncle and I discovered a couple weeks ago does bring me closer. You will all be able to read about it in a little while I hope, as I will be writing a book with him that discusses this very principle:

“What does it mean to be a Christian?”

I think you will find my Taoist perspective on it to be different than your minister’s, your bishop’s or your priest’s, but I hope you will enjoy it anyway. What is written above is a taste of what I believe about Christianity.

2 thoughts on “How I Feel: Christ and Homosexuality

  1. Gypsy Lizardkilt says:

    The cheap-shot scare quotes above the rebuke for name-calling is pretty hilariously two-faced.

    Let’s put the scare quotes in more entertaining places! Like:

    Yes, I am a “Christian.”
    Yes, I still “love” you.
    Yes, we are still “friends.”

    (That last one’s my favorite.)

    • klovax says:

      I know. . . I was very “impressed” with the wording. I think it is fantastic how ignorant people can be of their own actions, and the words they are using.

Leave a Reply

