Ignorance

Spoken words never heard.

It was not because they were not said,

No, I was not so fortunate.

Thoughts shared, thoughts returned,

the wrapping never disturbed

except by the handling,

which left it tattered and worn.

Ignorance held, kept the glass full,

and a full glass can take no more knowledge.

Was I also guilty of this?

Certainly, for in my ignorance,

I assumed you would wish not to be.

This poem was inspired from an excerpt of “Zen Flesh Zen Bones”. Unfortunately, I do not currently have my copy near me to share with you the exact story, but I will endeavor to do so in the morning, so if you are interested, try checking back then.

Leave a Reply

